October to November (Month 2) – Parling to who?!

After the first few hectic weeks in France, things have finally started to settle into a routine. I now feel more confident in my surroundings and I feel that this has been reflected in my progress this month.

Starting lectures really provided me with the opportunity to structure my language learning, as I was exposed to spoken and written French for prolonged periods of time, so I really had the chance to get my head into ‘French Mode’ and learn language through the immersion method (Baker, 2006).

As a Joint Honours student of French and English Language at home, I decided it would be beneficial to study linguistics modules in France, in the hope that I would be able to use prior knowledge to partly consolidate for any weaknesses in comprehension of new topics. In addition to choosing relevant modules, I have also made sure to write up notes for each class that evening, to ensure that the new terminology is fresh in my mind and I will retain as much information as possible, thereby employing Rubin (1981)’s memorisation strategy.

I have found that the language support classes are really helping to increase my language skills in all aspects. The classes are streamed into levels, which is suggested to give a positive outcome for L2 learners by Wesche (1981), and I would have to agree. Knowing that I am surrounded by students of a similar level has increased my confidence for participation in the classes, meaning that I have been using Rubin (1981)’s guessing and deductive reasoning cognitive strategies to test my knowledge during the class discussions. From this, I have seen a significant increase in my ability to recall correct verbal and grammatical structures, and I believe this to be as a result of the memorisation and practice cognitive strategies (Rubin, 1981) that I have been using.

I was parling to you?
There was a particular situation this month that I feel is reflective of my language learning progress so far. In a conversation with another English girl I was trying to say “I was speaking to you” but instead mixed parler (French infinitive ‘to speak’) and the English gerund. According to Myers-Scotton (1993) this is code-switching at morpheme level, and it is something that I have noticed myself doing I begin to mix between French and English more regularly. For me, it suggested that my mind was starting to recognise the equivalent french counterparts for words that I was saying in English and is subconsciously creating links between my L1 and L2 – amazing what the brain can do!

I also had the opportunity to go home for a week this month and found that French words that I am using on a daily basis (merci, pardon, salut) had ingrained themselves so well into my vocabulary that I was using them in the relevant English situations for the first couple of days. Rather than annoy me, it actually pleased me to know that constant practice and exposure to the language was beginning to have an effect on my retention of the language even when removed from it.

These particular situations, coupled with my increased retention of French grammatical structures has made me feel confident that my language learning strategies are working. Even so early on in my time abroad I have been able to discuss numerous occasions displaying progress, which is really encouraging for the next few months!

 

Until next time,

Courtney

References:

Baker, C. (2006). Foundations of bilingual education and bilingualism. Clevedon: Multilingual Matters.

Myers-Scotton, C. (1993). Social motivations for codeswitching. Oxford: Clarendon.

Rubin, J. (1981). Study of cognitive processes in second language learning. Applied Linguistics 11/2: 117-131.

Wesche,  M.B.  (1981).  Language aptitude measures in streaming matching students with methods, and diagnosis of learning problems. In Diller, K.C. (ed.) Individual differences and universals in language learning aptitude: 119-154. Rowley: Newbury House.

Leave a comment